#aspie trips out #undermilkwood

AS  I am half Welsh  I have often    heard  the name of   Dylan Thomas   and must  admit  did    not  take much notice    mainly  cause   if my mum tells  me  anything  should be  read well i Ignore her !!!

Awhile back  we   went on Holiday   to   the  mumbles   and   mum really wanting  to  go  and  see   Dylan’s   writing  hut   but    my dad   refusing   out right  and   well I  am  ashamed  to  say not    interested !!

But things  change  last year  at    our  Shakespeare     reading   group we   have  a break  from  him sometimes  we  read  the play  and we  laughed   cried  (perhaps a bit of an  exaggeration  and   we all  tried   to  put the  Welsh  accent on !!

I will  always   remember the    looks of glee   when  we  discovered that LLargeggub   means  bugger all  backwards   handy  if not sure    about the   spelling  you can check it out that  way !!  (just done it )

Last year   i found out with  glee that    the play was coming to   the    Liverpool  playhouse  so  booked although     was a   bit  worried   on way  home  that   had   booked   the wrong  thing   crazy Welsh village   meant  something to me !!

The   day arrived  and   my mum   was   doing other    things  before  meeting me    this   was  sending  me into an  aspie   meltdown   what if    she   got  delayed  and i was   left outside   with  her ticket  I was   beginning to   rant and rave  and  flew round their  giving   her tickets   and  SCREAMING IF    late   I will be in their  !!!

we  both of us    got their   with  loads   of time to spare to even eat pasties in the  square umm  breathe   AGAIN !!!

HA d a quick look round the   audience    all ages  both  sexes and  best thing   about them i soon discovered    not  sweet   eaters  or  rustlers or yapers   not only was  i made  up but   mum (carer)   for  someone    with aspergers   a noise  out-of-place   is SOOOOOOOO  Painful  !!

The  setting   was  brill    but not sure   were   photos   so u will  have   to go and  g o and see   it for   yourselves  !!! and  we   were  their in the     village  of llareggub (remembering  previous   suggestions  on spelling !

What I loved    about this   production   they  did  not use   to many  props so    you  concentrated  on what    WAS  HAPPENING   in the   village  and not on the   surroundings   all the  cast  suited  their  roles  Mrs  dai Bread  and   Captain cat   but  admit  Owen tyle   stood  out  mainly   because  he   had a  resemblance to   Dylan ( Not that i ever met  him )

One part   of the  play erupted   into  laughter   were  the  cast  could  not continue  for  laughing    could  say  it was  Toilet    humor   but    this    is   what  it makes  it for  me the  unexpected   does   not matter  how  good a   film or  tv  production  the one thing   you wont get is    an off the  cuff  reaction

The  children  singing   of their  rhymes  was  poignant  and made  me   wonder    have   we lost  that innocence with   kids   growing up so   quickly today!!!

We had  gone   to the  twilight   performance s o decided   to  stay  for the   question and  answer  things  after it   was great to see  the  cast as  themselves      but still  just  as  charming!!!! it made  my mums night   to hear   REAL  WELSH  accents and  one of the actors  lived   not far from her  village  MANOD   so a  great   night   although must  admit   could  have   been a   disaster  as   the   women’s  toilets  had   malfunctioned    during  the evening

MUM    got    talking   TO SOME OF  her   kin folks  and   with a  bit of  struggle   to get    over the  water   (transport   systems  don’t  like us being out after a   certain time  )  we were home with  plenty  for us  to ponder  about   such as  Welsh is such a lyrical   sing-song language   would it have  been different in welsh and  it is believed    Dylan   wrote    a lot  more    but   were  it is   no one  knows  I wonder !!!

About loubyjo

I have all my life been fascinated by words and books especially I used to have this strange idea that I could read every book in the world well maybe just 80% of them . My life can at times be really stressful as suffer my brains wires are all wonky which results in me having aspergers syndrome thats probably where all my crazy ideas spill out from !!!IIIalso have ocd which results in my thoughts getting stuck in my head causing me lots of distress , but hey what is perfection and if i ever met a perfect person it would probably send me fast asleeP AND YOU AS WELL SO iIam hoping to use this blog to let you lnow what it is like to be me !! in the last few years also discovered got ptsd this is were most of probs stem from
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

