#Theboyin thestripedpyjamas #aspietheatre

LiverpooI heard   just before    christmas  that   their was   a trip  going  to Liverpool   to see  the boy in the  striped  pyjamas  . I  think most people   have  either   read the   book or seen the    film so yes  knew  exactly  what happened at the  end  !!

The  reason we were  going   was that i do volunteer   work for the  reader org  and   we  occassionly  have  a jaunt / trip ou  not    sure  wether   this play goes nder that  thought !!

I knew  a few people   that  said    they did  not want to  see  the  play  as  to   horrific   but   i agreed  to go as   think  drama or   literture    are  a good   way to  make  sure  that people   and their   stories  live on

My main worry was not the   story   or the   content   but  the   fact that  the   people  around me  may be   loud u prob  would sit their    totally  oblivious to  every    crunch of  sweets    chat  but not me  so  that  WAS   my main worry  and so  was   relieved to  be  siting   by  people  i vaguely  knew  i  never mentioned the   reason for  my dislike   of noise  but  made it  clear i would goxxxxxxxxx .kg.g.gk.hvv  (get the picture)

I  WAS  QUITE  relaxed   til   realised the  theatre   was filling  up  with school  kids   AHHHH  NOOO  BUT     dont  judge   louby   the   kids  who were  siting by me  were  fineb is  and   actually  got into  conversation  with them asking   “if read the book etc” I  watched  the   film of   this  a few years   back  and must   admit it   played a round  with my head  and today   can see it vividly but   don’t  think  anything  shocks   so much  the   2nd  time  as the    first   time  u see  her anything !!

The  story of    two  boys   who made   friends  over a   barbed wire  and  seen through  a  child  eye  were  they  are  still  vaguely innocent of the  wickedness of man  although the   questions   that  Bruno  asked  were   extremely truthful   such as  Hitler is  our leader but   why is life so  bad !!

It   struck me  throughout   how little   props were  needed in this  production  but    they were   so effective  the  movement of   going  from one  side  of the  fence to the other  and how   everyone worked as a team

Both  boys  were perfect;y cast  Bruno by  Jabez  cheeseman and   Colby  Mulgrew as  shmuel perfectly showing   the   energy of  one little  boy and the   tiredness of the other   both   exactly  the  same   birthday but  such different  lives   just because of  fate !!

At  certain times   during th  play   film were  shown in the   background  which  were  very effective  not  taking place of the   stage  action but   making  u aware of the   growing threat

Love is    blind so  they say and   this  was shown through Bruno s    older  sister   who was   besotted  with  her boyfriend  and could see   no wrong  in the regime of the  third  reich  as  said  love is   blind !!!

Through the  friendship   both   boys  flourish and  you almost  forget   what is goingon in the background   but it is  always their  !!  lurking   ready to bite   like that  fateful  day when they  go to  look  for Shmuel;s   dad   with   awful consequences   which  think always    stay in my mind !!

It always  amazes me  does  not matter  how  powerful the  play is  go for a cup of  coffee  and it is  soon forgotten but is  it   !!!!!

but mad it

About loubyjo

I have all my life been fascinated by words and books especially I used to have this strange idea that I could read every book in the world well maybe just 80% of them . My life can at times be really stressful as suffer my brains wires are all wonky which results in me having aspergers syndrome thats probably where all my crazy ideas spill out from !!!IIIalso have ocd which results in my thoughts getting stuck in my head causing me lots of distress , but hey what is perfection and if i ever met a perfect person it would probably send me fast asleeP AND YOU AS WELL SO iIam hoping to use this blog to let you lnow what it is like to be me !! in the last few years also discovered got ptsd this is were most of probs stem from
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

