world book day rant !!

Last   Thursday was  World   book  day   ,   and it  was supposedly a special   occasion as   was  2  decades  old    so happy birthday   but I   am  kind of   hoping    it will change  slightly   in its    format  by the  time  it comes  officially on age !!

I am not sure   who    started  the whole  thing  off but  can probably  guess     why they   did so  to get   children interested  in books  and reading  and  yes  it may  have  succeeded  in some part of doing this  but   just lately   it  is  beginning  to grate  with me  and  I  have  heard  others  say they  dread it !!!

In the  last  few  years I have     friends  with    children  who say  it is    nightmare  to think of something to  wear   that   is original  and  does   not  take yeons  to prepare  that’s    why   various  shops with their   dress up  gear  do a sellout  the few  days before !!

I  remember   a  young  girl  I looked  after   went  with a stripy  jumper  and  just black trousers   Dennis  the menace   obviously be it  a girl   quite   sure   alot of these   girls    don’t want to be  princesses   etc  (  maybe  some do   but surely  not all  )   my  youngest   niece  (6) adores   dates and   times  of thing   ( slightly  worrying   with me   being aspergic  but still   at  christmas one of the  things  i got  her was a  calendar  with princess on  ”   I dont  do princesses  she  said    quite  indignantly  yer  i agreed    neither  do i   but perhaps the    message is dont presume    girls  want to be  cinderella  and  the  boys    superman .

I am so  glad  this   did not  exist   when at    school at    5/6 maybe  not to  bad   but  8/  9   maybe not   that’s  when  name calling is  rife   a  friends   son   does not  go to school as        gets   in such a panic    about such a thing  which is  a great  shame  as  he actually  like reading  and books  which is what  it  is the  real  reason but  dressing  up a  total NO NO   !!!

I have  always   loved  reading and must admit   find  it  difficult  to   understand  people  who don’t   as  they  say at least  give  it  ago !!!  my sister  in law   does not   read   at all think has read the   da  Vinci code  and   shades of  grey and thats because  everyone  else doing it  , and  that  is part of the problem    especially  in the  early years  as  my  relative     says  i hate   reading  to t hem    u do it   she   says   to my brother

I have looked  after   various  children   over the  years and picked   up  loads of  kids  up       as could  not wait to see what  book they  were  on and  was made up when  they  went up a stage  but  u must   admit   learning  to read   books    are   boring  so u may   have  to  put more in yourself   so if   Fiona   reading  ” masie  is in the park”   kinda   say    do u like  the park   what  do  u like going on  yer  i know   sounds   ultra  basic and common sense   but     it  shows  u are taking  an interest   and the child  will  be able  to   see how  the person in book is like her    not kidding  not  everyone    has  this   so called   common sense  so many  people  seem  to think    its   just about  getting the  words   right   does   not   matter  if u feel  part of it !!!

My  dad   is another   member  of  family does not  like  reading  (  i am the  milkmans  well  postman’s )  but    he can  read  and a  given the    material    he  likes will  read   such as  regularly  reads  a paper    does the sport  followed   by   world  events  politcs and if has to    gossipy  news .  my dad  loves  sport  and he will  read   books on  certain  footballers  or sportspeople      awhile back  he   read   round Ireland with a fridge only cos  i had   a spare  copy  lying  round  and must   admit  he throughly  enjoyed   it as  kept on telling me bits about  it !! he was  doing  it  reading  for pleasure  but  seemed  to be  embarrassed  if  i saw him  reading  it or  asking  about it     . , the  point of this little  ramble of  consciousness  is perhaps    for world book day   to be truly  successful   it has   to  be  for   everyone  not  just the  kids or the  elderly  people  reading poetry but  just   everyone  ,  not  everyone   would   enjoy a  classic  book , and  no one  should be   made to  feel  inferior     if  they   enjoy   reading mills and boon type  books jokey  books   the point is to make  people   see it can  be  for   everyone !!

Awhile  back  my uncle  was in hospital after   having a stroke and   also had pancreatic   cancer  he was  not going  to recover    and he  was  in hospital for   about  3 months    he never   spoke  ageing but  my dad   went  every day  and read him to  about  the coming  and goings of the  football leagues  and  various  other    snip bits  from   sports  journal he will never know  if  his brother  heard  him but that was the only was the only way he could  really communicate  by reading !!

ha   nearly finished  moaning  their   are  kids  parents  who look  forward to  world book  day  but it  should be a  day when all ages     reading  styles   get together and  do something    shattered now  need  a cuppa and   quick read  !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

About loubyjo

I have all my life been fascinated by words and books especially I used to have this strange idea that I could read every book in the world well maybe just 80% of them . My life can at times be really stressful as suffer my brains wires are all wonky which results in me having aspergers syndrome thats probably where all my crazy ideas spill out from !!!IIIalso have ocd which results in my thoughts getting stuck in my head causing me lots of distress , but hey what is perfection and if i ever met a perfect person it would probably send me fast asleeP AND YOU AS WELL SO iIam hoping to use this blog to let you lnow what it is like to be me !! in the last few years also discovered got ptsd this is were most of probs stem from
This entry was posted in childhood, READING, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

