dont ask questions ????

Today  I went   to  a book grp  in  a bookstore  !!!!!  wow    been going  a few years  and  we  read  a wide   variety of books  although  i am not over  keen on  been  given a time limit  or being  told  what to read !!!!

Today we  were  beginning  to read The great Gatsby   I was one of the  few people who had not read the book  but this  did not bother me  as  it would be  fresh the leader  of grp  then asked   ” what   would   the   ingredients   be in an   American novel and  a few people  mentioned  a small town and making it  big  , after    bit of discussion , i was  asked  what i thought , err nothing    a few  more people came to join us and   we  took   a  quick  break ” so what do u think then lou ”  again nothing  ,  i hate this  kind of thing  , if if i had something  to  say  surely  i would say , in the past i  have bought  up  this  questions  and asking people  direct ,as  puts people on the  spot , the person leading the  grp  has  told me  in the past  that  she is aware  of people  if not spoken  but sometimes it   is  nice just to listen  and to be  honest if  throughly   involved in the story  does  not matter   wether  it is  american   British or from Timbuctoo !!

I understand  how difficult  how difficult it can be  , when  running reading  grp  to let  all people   join in as some people may want to say something but   don’t feel  confident   to say  or  just happy to listen ,  i tend to panic  more than  most  if asked   directly think  this could   be  cos  aspergic   and also as  kid  was  an elective mute  ,  this  used to upset  other people  more  than me   that  did not speak , but  as one who knows  what it is like to be   extremely quiet and  today  relatively  chatty   i would always say  just live and  let live   , dont worry too much if   a kid is  not speaking   and  if  a person  is not joining in as  much  as usual , also leave alone  a person will always   speak  if  got something to say  !!!!

About loubyjo

I have all my life been fascinated by words and books especially I used to have this strange idea that I could read every book in the world well maybe just 80% of them . My life can at times be really stressful as suffer my brains wires are all wonky which results in me having aspergers syndrome thats probably where all my crazy ideas spill out from !!!IIIalso have ocd which results in my thoughts getting stuck in my head causing me lots of distress , but hey what is perfection and if i ever met a perfect person it would probably send me fast asleeP AND YOU AS WELL SO iIam hoping to use this blog to let you lnow what it is like to be me !! in the last few years also discovered got ptsd this is were most of probs stem from
This entry was posted in aspergers, childhood, hidden diability, mental health, READING, selective mute, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

